BAKING APPLE CRUMBLE

Hello hello hellooo my lovelies! I hope you’ve all had a lovely week and are enjoying the last of the nice weather!! I had a very busy day yesterday, baking apple crumble! I had never baked this before so I knew that it could have been an absolute disaster. Want to know if it was? Keep reading!

So first of all I had to find a recipe, that would be a good start.. I used a very old cook book we have had a very long time! It’s called the cooking book by Victoria Blashford-Snell. Here is the link to it from amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Cooking-Book-Victoria-Blashford-Snell/dp/1405332220/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1473534303&sr=8-1&keywords=the+cooking+book

I would really recommend it as it has lots of different recipes from quick, sweet treats to big, fancy meals.img_1554

So just a warning, you have to dedicate at least half an hour of your time to cutting and peeling apples-definitely if you’re a beginner (it took me that long anyway). Once all the apples are cut and peeled, they are put aside with lemon juice in the bowl and mixed in, so that it stops the apples from browning.

img_1545

To make the crumble, it is very simple. You just use the tips of your fingers to rub together butter and flour until it is very crumbly, then mix in brown sugar and oats. My tip to make sure the crumble is perfectly crumbly, is to put it in the fridge for 5-10 minutes to chill. This will set the crumble so that it doesn’t change to a cake like texture when it is put in the oven.

img_1547

Finally, I put the apples in a pie dish then added the crumble on top and pressed lightly over the top with my fingers. Then it was ready to go in the oven!

img_1548

The Finished Product

img_1556img_1563

IT WASN’T A FAIL!! I actually did it and it was very very easy! I really suggest this recipe and the book as they are so easy for beginners but also have some advanced recipes too. I absolutely loved this recipe and it was so delicious. Also, as I only used apples for the filling, with no added sugar or other ingredients, it is quite healthy too(that’s what I keep telling myself). If you want the full recipe, then I suggest you buy the book that I have linked above, it will be so worth it! Also, I suggest cutting the apples smaller if the apple crumble is being made for children as the spoonful’s can be quite big due to the apples.

Thankyou so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed it, I definitely enjoyed making and eating it! I love you all very much, give it a like if you enjoyed it and follow me if you want more posts like these. I love doing them! See you on Wednesday for another post.

Remember, a little bit of sugar fixes everything.

Leave a Reply

