MAKING A GINGERBREAD HOUSE

Hello hello hellooooo!! I hope you’re all having a wonderful day. I’m so sorry I didn’t upload on Sunday but I decided to actually make the gingerbread house at the weekend and thought it would make sense for me to take my time with this post and do it properly, so I’m uploading it today instead. I will be going through how to make the gingerbread house and all of the ingredients I used so you can make one yourself! Surprisingly this actually worked which my family found quite insane. I will be giving you some little tips that helped me along the way too.

img_1921

Ingredients:

  • 250g margarine (Stork)
  • 200g Demerara sugar
  • 7 tbsp golden syrup
  • 600g plain flour
  • 2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 4 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 egg whites
  • 500g icing sugar, sifted
  • dolly mixtures
  • giant chocolate buttons
  • fruit pastels
  • any sweets of your choice to decorate
  1. Pre-heat oven to 180C/350F/gas 6.
  2. Melt margarine, sugar and syrup in a pan. I found that there were still little lumps of sugar in the pan but I didn’t want to burn the butter so decided to leave them and they worked out fine once everything was mixed together.
  3. Mix the rest of the dry ingredients in a large bowl: flour, bicarbonate of soda, ginger and cinnamon.
  4. Stir in the liquid mixture from the pan until it forms a dough.
  5. Wrap cling film over the top of the bowl and let it chill in the fridge for an hour. Whilst this is chilling, I cut out the template of the house which I will link here: http://www.marthastewart.com/921723/swedish-gingerbread-house-how Although, I did find that there wasn’t a template for the roof panels, so I calculated them myself, with a little bit of a struggle.
  6. Once the dough was ready, I rolled it out with a rolling pin onto baking paper, placed the template over the top, then used a knife to cut around the template, into the dough.

img_1897img_1899

8. Once they were all cut out, I placed them all onto trays and put them in the oven for 15 minutes. I kept checking after 15 minutes though, as the ones on the top shelf were ready quicker than the ones below.

img_1901img_1900img_1904

9. Whilst they were cooling, I used the excess dough to create different shaped cookies, using Christmas cookie cutters that I bought from amazon.

img_1905

10. Once the gingerbread house parts had cooled and gone hard, I started to piece them together with royal icing and icing fondant. I cheated with the icing fondant and bought it from Tesco, but the royal icing I made with the icing sugar and egg whites in the ingredients section above. I simply frothed the egg whites then added them to the icing sugar. The royal icing would have taken forever to stick all of the parts together, but the fondant wouldn’t stick to the gingerbread without the royal icing, so I used the royal icing as a kind of glue. First I glued together the sides and the front, leaving the roof until last.

img_1907

Unfortunately I had an accident and one of my sides fell and cracked into three pieces, which I was devastated about! However, I just used the same gluing technique to stick it all back together. Accidents like this don’t matter as they are going to be covered with the decorations anyway.

img_1909

12. Whilst I left that to set, I decided I would use the royal icing to stick the giant buttons onto the roof panels. I thought it looked very effective if I used an excessive amount so that it would spill around the sides of the buttons and make it look like snow. Mine looks very messy as I was in a bit of a rush at this point but it didn’t matter in the end as more decoration was needed.

img_1911

13. I left the decoration on the roof panels to dry, whilst I decorated the sides with the royal icing, just simply using a spoon to smear it over the top half of the sides. As it was still wet, it dripped and dried very effectively, looking like snow and ice. (That’s what I thought anyway!)

img_1912

14. Next, I used the dolly mixtures to outline the bottom of the gingerbread house and the jelly sweets in the dolly mixtures bag to go over the top of the front wall. I used a fruit pastel to go in the middle as there weren’t enough to fill the whole line. You can decorate your house with whatever sweets you would like.

img_1913

15. Then, add the roof panels with the same gluing technique you used previously. There will be a gap in between which I filled with icing fondant, then glued fruit pastels along the top for decoration.

img_1921

16. Finally, I sprinkled (more like threw) on some icing sugar, over the top of the house so that it looked more snowy and effective.

img_1924

17. Once I had finished my gingerbread house, I decorated all of my biscuits with the remaining royal icing and sweets.

img_1925

Thankyou so much for reading this post, I hope you really enjoyed it! I absolutely love doing baking posts so please let me know if you love reading them in the comments below or let me know if you’re going to try this yourself. Please give it a like if you enjoyed it and follow me if you want more Christmas or baking posts. I love you all very much and I’ll see you soon for another post!

Remember, good things come to those who bake.

Leave a Reply

