HOW TO FOLLOW YOUR GOALS THIS NEW YEAR

Hello hello helllooooo!! I hope you’re all having a wonderful new year and fulfilling your new years resolutions…but if not, I am here to help you get back on track and follow your goals! I have 5 main steps to doing this and I have fully researched this and trialled it myself so these are my honest tips that I think actually work, so please try these out. I don’t know about you guys but I absolutely love a new year for a fresh start and a new diary and calendar. I came home from a night out on New Years Eve and actually changed my calendar on my wall and my diary, in the early hours of New Years Day…how sad is that?! I just couldn’t wait to get organised!

img_2073img_2074

Here are my 5 steps to following your goals this new year:

  • Reflect on the past year

Think about the past year: What were your highlights? What were your downfalls? What would you like to change? Evaluate everything you did in the past year that answers these questions. However, make sure that you write all of this down, as it is much more effective, to bring everything to the forefront and to help you with the other steps.

  • Write down your exact goals in detail

What do you really want for this year? Write down the goal in brief first, then write how much you want this. You could write this out of 10 or prioritise them in a list if you have a few. Then write down the benefits these goals will bring you, as this will keep you going throughout the year. When you’re feeling unmotivated, you can read these benefits and remind yourself why you started, which will raise your motivation.

  • Set your goals accurately

To do this, you will need to use the SMART method. This is to make sure you set them correctly. S- specific: be specific with your goals. M- measurable: make sure progress can be measured accurately. A- achievable: make sure the overall goal can be achieved. R- realistic: make sure you have the physical resources to achieve this goal. T- timely: make sure you set a time scale that is realistic for the goal to be achieved. For example, I may have a goal of going to the gym 5 times a week, for the full year. Here I have been specific at the number of times I want to go and I have a gym membership and the motivation to go, so it is realistic and achievable. It is also measurable and timely as I want to do it all year and can measure it with a fitness log in my bullet journal. If you do this with all of your goals, they will be much easier to achieve.

  • Ask yourself WHY you want this

Why are you making these specific goals? There has to be a reason and the reason sometimes seems simple, or there may be more than one reason, but you have to dig deep into the why, because you may have a subconscious reason for why you want this goal. Don’t just go with your first answer, think deeper! Ask yourself why over and over until you think you’ve hit the nail on the head. Do the same as step 2 and write this down in detail; and emphasise certain words that you want to look back on and see straight away, by writing them in capitals, bold, a different colour or underlined. This will really help you keep going throughout the years when things get tough!

  • Set up practical systems to fulfil these goals

This will physically make things happen; there is no point planning out all of your goals and thinking you will just automatically go through with it…you most likely won’t without a practical system put in place. Use a calendar– digital or one that you hang on your wall like I have. Use a diary for different goals and colour code– what’s urgent and what’s not as urgent. Use deadlines. Check your goals monthly– put this reminder on your calendar or diary or both! Other practicalities depend on your goal, for example if I wanted to get fit and start the gym, I would need to get a gym membership and gym clothes.

I really hope this has helped you become a little more organised and motivated to do your goals. I know it is a couple of weeks into January already but to be honest, there is no rule to say you have to start your New Years resolutions on 1st January! I make goals all the way through the year and use these steps to help me keep motivated, it’s fab. Thankyou so much for reading this post, if you enjoyed it then please give it a like and follow me for more, I would really appreciate it. I love you all very much, and I will see you on Wednesday for another post!

Remember that a positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

