HOW TO GET FIT AND HEALTHY IN THE NEW YEAR

Hello hello hellllooooo!! I hope you’re all having a wonderful day and a wintery, cosy January! I’m sure a lot of us still have a lot of chocolate and treats left over from Christmas…yet you’re trying to get fit and healthy for the new year and Summer is 6 months away and you know how quickly these months go, and you’re panicking a bit? Am I right? I feel like this every year!!!!! So this year I have come up with tips for myself to get fit and healthy this year and leave the chocolate on the side, and I have decided to share them with you, as a lot of people go through this struggle in the new year.

  • Chew your food at least 30 times before swallowing

This may seem a bit eccentric but I promise you this works! If you start chewing your food more, not only does your body find it easier to digest, you also trick your body into thinking you’ve eaten more than you actually have because you’ve been chewing so much. When I first heard about this I thought it was a load of rubbish but honestly if you try it, it works(and also gives you a bit of jaw ache the first time you do it). I’m not going to lie, I do not do this every time I eat because I think my jaw would drop off, but with big meals I do and I tend to eat less because my body thinks I have eaten more than I actually have. This seriously aids overeating!!

  • Keep a big bottle of water with you at all times

This is another clever trick because let’s be honest, who really wants to carry around a big bottle of water all day?! NO ONE!! So instead, what do you do? The only option, DRINK IT! My college bag is heavy enough with all of the work and rubbish I carry around so I always end up drinking my full big bottle of water and then filling it right up to the top again for round 2!

  • Invest in new fitness clothes

I have lost count of the amount of times I go shopping, buy fitness clothes and go to the gym the next day or even the same day! It’s just something about new fitness clothes that excites me and most others- why wouldn’t you want to try out your new things right? Buying new fitness attire always keeps me motivated to do exercise! These don’t need to be expensive either; there are loads of places that sell cheap fitness clothes so that your bank account doesn’t suffer; such as, Forever 21, New Look, Missguided, Primark and Asos.

  • Find exercise you enjoy doing

One of my greatest mottos in life is ‘only do things that make you happy’ and if exercise isn’t one of them then don’t do it, but you can at least try to find an exercise you might enjoy. Try different things, you might like them! Personally, I’m going to try out new fitness classes this year to see if I can find one I really enjoy and keep it up. I used to force myself to run nearly everyday and eventually it made me very mentally ill and not want to do exercise, so I was advised to stop; when I started again, I tried going on the bike instead and I honestly enjoy it so much more and it works just as well for my body. No exercise is particularly enjoyable to some people but there is no harm in trying to find one you can cope with every once in a while.

  • Don’t hate the gym!

There are so many bad reviews about the gym that makes people who have never even been before, not want to go! I have been to many gyms in the past few years and it is honestly no where near as bad as you imagine it to be. I suggest that you block out the world with your headphones and just stay focused on yourself. You shouldn’t hate a place that’s going to make you look fabulous. Now get your new gym clothes on and go workout!

  • Just get out and move!

This is a tip for EVERYONE, but especially those who don’t enjoy working out. You don’t need to constantly workout, just move your body any way you can! Walk up and down the stairs instead of using the escalators or lifts, use your legs more- that is what you have them for! Instead of driving to the shop, walk it- even if it’s an hours walk there and back, you have burnt a whole lot of calories and improved your mental health ready to carry on with the day. People don’t realise how good walking is for you, there are so many benefits!

  • Do a home workout

Don’t like going to the gym or working out in public? Work out at home! You honestly have no excuse for not exercising at home, it is the easiest way to do a hard workout as you don’t need to travel anywhere. There are so many fitness DVD’s and youtube videos you can watch. I would recommend ‘Lucy Wyndham-Read’ on youtube as she is a professional fitness trainer and has workout videos for all sorts of fitness levels. Doing a few sit ups whilst you’re waiting for your favourite program to come on, cannot be excused!

  • Find a smoothie you love

Let’s face it, some smoothies are pretty disgusting! I mean green smoothies look absolutely vile to me but I’ve learnt that it isn’t all about the look (or smell!!). There are so many delicious smoothie recipes out there, you just need to trial and error them. Water can get quite boring and you do need the right vitamins and nutrition so smoothies are perfect! They can also fill you up so you don’t snack as much during the day. One of my new years resolutions is to find a green smoothie I love! I will let you guys know how I do.

  • Get more sleep

I’m sure you’ve heard this healthy tip so many times and it is quite obvious that getting more sleep is going to boost you, however I never knew why or how. Of course getting more sleep means that you will be less tired and be more likely to move around and work harder when exercising. Although, it also means that you eat less as your body requires less energy to function, meaning that you stop feeling so hungry all of the time (which I ALWAYS do!!).

  • Find the time!

There is nothing really to say about this tip, apart from if you really want it, you will find the time!!

  • Don’t put so much pressure on yourself

I kind of mentioned this in one of my other tips but it is to just do what makes you happy! If working out doesn’t make you happy then clearly walking and light exercise is your thing and you shouldn’t push yourself to workout! There is no better health than being happy. Your mental health is much more important than working out and eating healthily, so keep that in mind when you’re planning your new healthy lifestyle. Don’t be so hard on yourself when you have a bad day and don’t feel like doing any exercise or eating healthily, IT IS OKAY! Do it only if you want to.

That is all of my healthy lifestyle tips! Thankyou so much for reading, I really hope these tips have helped you for the new year. If you enjoyed this post then please give it a like and follow me for more. I love you all very much, and I’ll see you all on Sunday for another post.

Remember, trust yourself. You know more than you think you do.

Leave a Reply

