NEW EXPERIENCES & BEING YOUNG – advice and my own experience

Hello hello hellloooooo!! I hope you’re all having a wonderful spring! How awesome is this weather getting?! It gets me in such a good mood!!! Anyway, today I am going to be talking to you about my sudden epiphany I have had and how I have changed my personality from anxiety-prone to an ‘I don’t give a f***’ one- so enjoy!

Now I am 16(nearly 17) and many people my age are out partying and drinking so much they either pass out or are sick. I have never been that kind of person. The reason for this is because I was so worried about silly little things like how dead I’ll be the next day,what people will think of me and whether I’ll get caught. Truth is,all of those reasons are what I should be doing at this age! This is so cliche but you only live once and are only this age for a year so why aren’t I having the best time of my life and doing the things I can whilst I am this age. 

The reason I’m writing this post is because of an experience I had this weekend. So I was invited to quite a big house party on Saturday and I was so up for going at first. Then I found out one of my closest friends couldn’t go and I wasn’t sure I’d know that many people and thought I’d be third wheeling couples for most of the night,so I wimped out. What a huge mistake that was! Also I had work the next day so I didn’t want to be dead at work!! At first I was fine about not going,then once the night came, I spent my night playing their snapchats and basically seeing everything I was missing out on. I felt like complete crap. Of course I carried on playing the snapchats because that’s just what we all do isn’t it? Even though we know we are pissed off and know that it will make us more pissed off,we still watch! 

The next day I went to work and still felt quite crap about the whole situation. I told the girls at work about this and one of the older ladies honestly gave me some really good advice: she told me that all of the reasons I was giving her for not going are the reasons why I should have gone because that’s what being a teenager is! I then realised how stupid I was being just bailing out with such silly reasons for doing so. In the end, it turned out to be a really good party and I missed out on it because I let my anxiety and worries take over. When I got back from work I was scrolling through my subscription box on YouTube and found that mark ferris had uploaded a vlog, and at the start of this vlog he was talking about trying new things and having a ‘just do it’ attitude to things- coincidence? I THINK NOT, that is fate!!! That was when I realised I am never going to let this happen again! LESSON LEARNT

From now on I have decided I am going to push myself to do the things I don’t usually do and just go for every new experience I can! Because if you don’t try it, you’ll never know if you like or dislike it! Although this has been a brilliant life lesson for me and I’m giving you all this fabulous advice, please don’t get this mixed up with peer pressure. Peer pressure is a completely different level and if you know you definitely don’t want to do something then DONT DO IT! No one can force you to do anything and the opinion of others should not influence your actions at all, because in the end who cares what others think…it’s your life,LIVE IT!! 

So overall I wanted to share my experience of how I learnt how to just live my life to the full and try every new experience I can whilst I’m young! Now I have learnt this lesson, I feel unstoppable and just want to try everything…if only I had the money-the financial problems of a student, but that’s for another post! 

Thanks so much for reading, I really hope I have inspired you to become a better person and to take every opportunity you have no matter what age you are because you will never be that age again! Let me know if you like this post and I will see you soon with another. Byee xoxo

Leave a Reply

